Last Updated 13 | 02 | 2013 at 17:30


Malta's Wrestler of the Year

Article By: news

Maltese wrestler Adam Vella was declared Wrestler Of The Year 2011-12 during a dinner celebrating the 43rd Anniversary of the Malta Amateur Wrestling Federation.

During the season, Adam Vella won no less that four gold medals in his 60kg weight class. These were in the Wales Open, twice in the Malta Open and in the Bradford (England) Tournament. He also won the Maltese National Championship of the same class.

During the dinner a number of awards were given to various other wrestlers. Veteran wrester George Vassallo won the Malta Open 2012 and the National Championship in the 74kg category while Andrea Saliba received a silver in the Wales Open.

Aidan Buhagiar, Maltese 96kg champion took gold in the Wales Open and silver in the Bradford (England) tournament, Another veteran wrestler Abraham Vassallo, also one of Malta’s leading wrestlers and a previous Wrestler Of The Year winner took part in and won every international competition during the past season. National champion in the 84kg category David Zammit took part in all internationals winning the 66kg of the Malta Open 2011.

Leading cadet Gary Giordimaina (Naxxar Club) won all international competitions including the Malta Open 2011 and 2012, the Wales Open 2012 and the Bradford (England) Tournament besides the national weight category championship. Other  cadets that impressed during the wrestling season include Daniele Zingariello (Stella Maris Club), Deaon Sant (Qawra Club), Franklyn Schiberras (Naxxar Club), Mark Galea (Naxxar Club), Wayne Formosa (Naxxar Club) and Ali Farshan (Stella Maris Club).

The awards were presented by Malta Amateur Wrestling Federation President Simon A. Bonello.

Please sign in or register to post comments.